Welcome to the club

My friend, Lyd, had her tests on Monday and got the call from her doctor today. Her cancer is back. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this news. It doesn’t seem possible. I’m so sad that Lyd has to go down that crazy cancer rabbit hole again.

Lyd’s initial diagnosis was in 2005, lumpectomy & radiation followed by Tamoxifen for 5 years. They told her the Tamoxifen would reduce her chance of recurrence to something like under 2-3%. Yeah, right. Lyd has recurrent infiltrating breast cancer. Tomorrow, she’s scheduled for a sit-down w her surgeon to review her options.

I have a lot of friends who’ve had recurrences. It’s comforting to know they are doing fine now.  I have hope Lyd will do the same. I just wish she weren’t in that club too.

Cancer is such a strange journey. After we finish treatment, we like to believe that we did our time and put the cancer behind us. We identify and move on. I don’t live in a place of fear. But days like today are kind of unnerving. Did I dodge that bullet forever or just get a temporary reprieve?

Thank goodness that at least for today, we’re all doing alright.

Say a prayer for Lyd’s good health.

About A Broom of Her Own

Are you breathing just a little, and calling it a life? I swept my life clean of cancer, a cheating husband, and a brain-numbing job. Yikes.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

